Holy Family of Nazareth Parish was established by Bishop Thomas F. Brennan, first bishop of Dallas, in 1891. The territorial area comprised all of Wilbarger County, the towns of Tolbert, Oklaunion and Harrold. There were few Catholic Churches in this part of the state so the faithful had to depend upon the missionary fathers to visit them every so many months. The early priests had to come from Amarillo.
About 1903 and for several years afterward, the priests began to offer the sacrifice of the Mass at least once a month in the private homes of James Condon, Frank Minarik, Frank Dalmasso, Dr. W. M. Schindler, and H. Lauhoff.in 1907, the Catholics of Vernon had their first church. For the sum of $1000, they purchased a wooden structure which was built originally by the Northern Presbyterians and given later to the Progressive Christians, from whom it was purchased along with the site on which it stood. The location was an excellent one, for it was situated three blocks from the center of town on Cumberland Street.
The church was served by many successive priests until Fr. E. J. Gerlich was appointed the first resident pastor with mission churches in Quanah and Crowell. With the church having a resident pastor, spiritual and pastoral life of the people of God was taken care of and that also translated to the need of putting up other infrastructure to take care of the growing number of parishners. Successive priests who led the family continued with the good works and now we have a beautiful church building, a pastoral office, a religious education office, a parish hall and a rectory.
At present the church is very vibrant with about 300 families and two administrative staff. The church is also proud of her youth who are exceptionally active in the life of the parish. All these have been accomplished to the greater glory of God.